A scout for a job in the Philippines

4 months in the Philippines with no job and no income! I think those who have been abroad for more than a decade, with no savings back home and no clue can relate to this blog.

Before 2017 ends, I have high hopes that I’ll go back to Bahrain since one of my applications there responded and gave me an almost 80% assurance that they’ll take me. I honestly conditioned myself that yeah I’ll go back. However, upon almost always following up to them I received their answer which says, “Sorry we decided to forego the hiring and let the situation be as is. You may proceed with other applications you may have and we wish you goodluck!” I’ll be hypocrite if I’ll say I wasn’t affected by this news. I’ll be lying if I’ll say I was okay with that. Nope! Of course, not! I spent whole day crying about it and struggled with myself where did I got it wrong! The face and the guts to show to friends whom I shared that I’ll be leaving Philippines again. But then, good thing, our Church has an ongoing “Prayer and Fasting”. This helped me power-up and accept the whole fact and move on and continue living as alive human beings do and as a mature Daughter of GOD do!

So here I am, sending CVs provincewide and nationwide – may the first company to employ me wins! Overseas I have all the idea how the labor market or job hiring works but here in my home country – zero! I am not adept how the hiring process work so when asked for an interview or preliminary exams, I have lots of questions and observations. Like for example,

1. Most of the applications are done online so meaning your resumés/CVs/Biodatas were already received and checked. However, when they’ve checked it and you are shortlisted and invited for an interview, they’ll still asked you to bring resumés/CVs/Biodata with you.

2. There are hundreds and thousands

applicants for 3 positions.

3. They’ll asked you to wear business attire or at least be in your best attire but when you arrived, the personnel/coordinator/HR are not in their best attire!!!

4. When you got hired, you’ll have to provide for NBI Clearance, SSS, GSIS, PAG-IBIG, etc. – authenticated by PSA (former NSO). Failure to comply for the requirements will cause you not to be hired anymore or sometimes they’ll wait until you finish your requirements.

5. You’ll have to wait for months before you know the result. And some establishments (I’ll not mention which – mmmm…..the government!) have this system which they employ relatives or close friends or the likes.

5. With all the procedures and hiring whatsoever mentioned above (all expense paid by the applicant by the way), you’ll still end up with very low salary. (Not that I am complaining! Beggars can’t be choosers! ^__^)

But nonetheless, go on. Don’t Stop! #kapitlang #thankGODforeverything

All glory still and will always belong to HIM – the Author and Finisher of MY Faith!

Leave a comment