Purpose

Last Sunday at our VG, there was a question raised by our leader before she start her sharing, “What was that thing that struck you during the service?” Everybody shared theirs and mine is the word “purpose”. The scenario or the text is about Jacob how stubborn he is and how it’s been always “Me!” “My way!” “My decision!” He was self-striving. One thing he was born with because he was his mother’s favorite. He got the blessings of the firstborn from his father Isaac out of deception. He got his brother Esau sell his birthright out of deception. He made it through the top because of his own way despite GOD’s voice on his dreams and until there was the encounter with Jesus at Peniel.

Where’s the purpose there? When Rebekah was conceiving:

“The LORD said to her, “Two nations are in your womb; And two peoples will be separated from your body; And one people shall be stronger than the other; And the older shall serve the younger.”” – Genesis‬ ‭25:23‬ ‭NASB1995‬‬

If we’ll continue reading this chapter until Genesis 35, we’ll know that the “one people shall be stronger than the other” is Jacob and “the older shall serve the younger” is Esau. And there’s what GOD’s purpose for Jacob. Despite of the self-striving personality of Jacob he then will give up to be GOD-striving. Still GOD’s purpose prevailed in the life of Jacob. He became the father of Israel, GOD’s chosen people to show the whole nation and the world that GOD is sovereign and is at work in all of us. GOD is the Author of the lives of the people whom HE have called for HIS glory. To those who have gave in to the relationship HE is offering to everyone through JESUS HIS Only Begotten Son.

With that being said, I realized how am I with my purpose too. The purose GOD has for me. Honestly, I don’t have a clue what is it but what I got for now is that, I have an “invitational spirit”. Flash back to all instances I have before on my walk with GOD. I don’t know why some random people will talk to me, for example in the airport while waiting for our flight, their personal problems and then will tell me later on that they have not shared it to anybody yet, not even to their closest. I have so many instances in my life like that. It’s just amazes me how GOD worked it thru to me coz I, honestly speaking, have so many detours in my obedience with HIM.

But anyway, I thought I would share this to encourage everyone who will read this that we should not get tired and give up in our partnership with HIM Who have created us and gave us life because HE definitely have an idea to our WHYS? WHATS? WHENS? WHERES? And HOWS? Remember these (some of many) passages:

“Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.”” – Genesis‬ ‭28:15‬ ‭NASB1995‬‬

“Declaring the end from the beginning, And from ancient times things which have not been done, Saying, ‘My purpose will be established, And I will accomplish all My good pleasure’;” – Isaiah‬ ‭46:10‬ ‭NASB1995‬‬

“fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” – Hebrews‬ ‭12:2‬ ‭NASB1995‬‬

Be blessed everyone. And if you have something GOD impressed you today, act at once. Trust that HE knows what HE is doing.

Leave a comment